Uncategorized

“Gearing” Up

There are so many fitness crazes out there these days. HIIT training, Zumba, Circuit training, P90X, Insanity, TRX bands, and of course…Crossfit. It amazes me just how focused we are on our bodies in such an ungodly way.

Dane and I try to live simply, and to be honest, it comes a little easier for us. We simply don’t like stuff. I cringe at the thought of useless clutter in our house. Seriously, it stresses me out. But I’m not just talking about possessions here. I mean in life. Period. Simplicity is a beautiful thing to grasp; ridding the mind and body of clutter and focusing all our energies on the singular aspect of Jesus Christ, truly is where it’s at.

In small group we’ve begun reading through the book Discipline: The Glad Surrender, by Elisabeth Elliot. She says that “discipline, for the Christian, begins in the body.” We offer ourselves as living sacrifices to His purpose. Our bodies are a gift from the Lord, and as such should be offered up for His use, in an attitude of thanksgiving.

So, in XA the men got together and decided to start a Crossfit class. The idea behind it is to have an outlet for fellowship. The girls, feeling a bit left out decided in turn to start a fitness class of our own. Admittedly, I really wanted to do Crossfit. Everything about it seems appealing to me. Alas, it was not so.

The girls are taking the same idea for fellowship, and using it as a base for the ultimate goal of the class. However, we are not doing Crossfit, but rather HIIT/Circuit training. I also like this model for exercise. I’ve been doing the HIIT training for a while now. All fitness aside, what I like most about this whole thing, is that the ladies leading the class are putting all the attention on the Lord as the singular purpose for doing this at all. The workouts aren’t about looking good, they aren’t about vanity and self-image, they aren’t meant to make us feel prideful about ourselves, or negative about where we are not physically (still pride); they’re about none of these things.

I believe as Christians, we ought to treat our bodies in a manner worthy of the Lord. If discipline begins in the body (which I believe it does), then the other areas of our life will follow the model we set there, at our most basic level. If the Spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak, doesn’t it make sense then that if we are able to discipline the “flesh” to resist physical temptations, which very appeal is based on our senses, which are tangible, and so “satiable”, that we in turn will be able to discipline other areas of our being? Eating right, resting properly, keeping our bodies strong and fit, maintaining sexual control, all play a part in honoring the Lord in our bodies. What’s more, is the incredible attitude all the girls have throughout the workouts. Everyone is encouraging, and motivating to others, no one is complaining, and because the focus isn’t on ourselves, but on the Lord, we are able to actually HAVE FUN. What a concept!

I’m so excited to be a part of this! AND, I got some new gear which makes me even more excited! For my birthday, was basically just given money. (Welcome to adulthood, right?) But, with that, I was able to get new running shoes, which I desperately needed, and I got a new bike helmet, so I can be safe biking through town. Yay! Who doesn’t like new workout gear?

New Kicks!

 

These shoes are so awesome. They fit incredibly well and have some kick-butt tread…plus they’re super cute. And, I’ve had plenty of time to test out the new helmet, and it’s a winner: light, great ventilation, and stylish. WIN!

 

Bike Helmet

Leave a Reply

