Happenstance

What to do with a novel

This past November I participated in the annual NaNoWriMo event, mentioned in a previous post, in which the goal was to write a 50,000 word novel within 30 days. As they say, thirty days and nights of literary abandon. Never done it before, but found myself captivated. So in thirty days I finished my very first novel. Hooray!

Now, you may be asking, what exactly does one do with said novel? I try to get it published of course! It is important that I highlight the fact that by no means do I anticipate this novel to take off and become a best seller with fame and fortune ensuing…ha…if only, right? No, I write because I simply enjoy writing, and the book I just so happened to manage completing was so fun to write that I want to see if it could go anywhere. Enter Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. I stumbled upon this contest hidden somewhere within the literary propaganda throughout the NaNoWriMo website.

So, the contest breaks down like this: There are two categories you may enter your novel into – General fiction and Young Adult Fiction. The novel may only be entered into one category and have never been published (unless self-published). And what, pray tell, does the winner receive? Oh, I thought you’d never ask. The winner of the contest receives a $15,000 publishing contract with Penguin Group books.

I know…it’s pretty cool. So, the contest begins Jan. 23 and I am editing my little heart out as we speak.

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “What to do with a novel

  1. Best of luck in the contest. Don’t forget the pitch. I entered last year but gave little thought to the pitch…and paid for it. Might not seem right but the pitch is as important as the novel. Readers need to hooked early these days. Hemingway would have _______ out the contest organizers if it had happened in his day. ‘Course then he would have written the greatest pitch ever.

  2. Good luck! A friend of mine entered amazon’s contest a couple years ago and she made it into the Top 25. 🙂

    I’ve considered entering myself, but I don’t know if I can get the final edits done in time.

Leave a Reply

